BILLABONG-GROMMET-ATTACKThe second leg of the Billabong Grommet Attack Series 2016 kicked off a day early on Saturday, 16 July 2016 due to a huge swell forecasted for Sunday.

A gloomy morning greeted the hundreds of Groms who were ready to get on the water and charge. The action got underway at 8.00 am with the Push-In division showing some brave surfing especially from Nathan Bontje, Made Balon, Kai Raymond and Sinar Tanjung, who were really going for the win. The highly competitive U/14s division also showcased some great surfing with everyone pushing their limits and giving the spectators a glimpse into the future of surfing in Indonesia. Bronson Meidy was on fire and surfing way above his age.

The contest continued to run smoothly despite heavy rain at times, and the sun finally came out as the U/16 Girls were taking over the waves. Dhea Natasya, Cinta Hansel, Taina Izquerdo and Lily Macdonald were all in outstanding form, with Dhea Natasya securing the win with a 8.20 in the finals.

The crowd had all gathered for the U/16s Boys final and everyone was in a good mood due to the beautiful conditions. The Prince of Padma, Raju Sena, pleased the crowd with his usual amazing air shows and power hacks, while Arpad and Ivan Prihandoyo also delivered strong performances on the waves. However, Ketut Agus proved to be too strong and finished the day on 15.80 points to clinch first place.

“World-class surfers are coming from this hot bed of talent”, said Billabong Brand Ambassador Tai Graham. Former ASP pro surfer Jay Bottle Thompson also chipped in saying he loved watching Indonesian surfers in action and expects to see one on world tour soon.


The last stop on the Billabong Grommet Attack will see the event move to Halfway Kuta Beach on 28 August 2016, and we look forward to seeing everyone there for another day of spectacular performances!


Under 14 Boys :

  1. Bronson Meidy
  2. Dhany Widianto
  3. Pajar Ariana
  4. Wayan Angga


Under 16 Boys :

  1. Ketut Agus
  2. Raju Sena
  3. Arpad
  4. Ivan Prihandoyo


Under 16 Girls :

  1. Dhea Natasya
  2. Taina Izquerdo
  3. Lily Macdonald
  4. Cinta Hansel


Push-in Division :

  1. Nathan Bontje
  2. Made Balon
  3. Kai Raymond
  4. Sinar Tanjung

The Billabong Grommet Attack series is proudly supported by the ASC, Padma Boys Boardriders, Halfway Boardriders, Gus foundation, Made’s Warung, Paletas Wey, Pondok Pittaya, FCS fins, Hansel Surfboards, Surftime Magazine and

For any further enquiries, please contact:

Visit and follow us on and @billabongasia (Instagram) for more news and updates.


Billabong was founded on the Gold Coast of Australia in 1973. Created for the simple purpose of providing boardriders with the most functional and high quality products available. Surfing and Billabong have been at the foundation of the “global boardsport movement”, that today provides a dynamic platform of self-expression for the ever creative and rebellious youth. Billabong’s focus and values remain firmly committed to the ongoing development of quality product, and the board sport channels of surfing, skateboarding, wakeboarding, snowboarding and those who participate and aspire.

Related Blogs